For Immediate Release: June 2, 2017



Thirty-Man List Includes Players from Past Two Seasons


Cincinnati, OH- The Cincinnati Cyclones, in conjunction with the ECHL, have announced their protected list for 2017. The full list of players protected by the Cyclones can be found below.

2017 Protected List (Numbers in Parenthesis Correspond with the Guidelines Listed Below)

Forwards: Seth Ambroz (1), Zach Budish (3), Patrick D’Amico (4), Rob De Fulviis (1), Branden Gracel (3), Nick Huard (1), Justin MacDonald (1), Joe Manno (1), Brandon McNally (1), Tommy Mele (1), Christiaan Minella (1), Dylan Nowakowski (1), Shawn O’Donnell (1), Jordan Sims (1), Justin Vaive (5), Shane Walsh (1), Joe Wilson (3), Andrew Yogan (4), Dominic Zombo (1)

Defensemen: Arvin Atwal (1), Andrew Blazek (3), Cody Carlson (3), Craig Dalrymple (1), Tyler Elbrecht (1), Martin Lefebvre (1), Dan Johnston (1), Eric Knodel (1), Saverio Posa (1), Brett Wysopal (3).

Goaltender: Joel Rumpel (1)

ECHL teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association.

Those guidelines state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that: 

1. Signed a Standard Player Contract (SPC) in 2016-17 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2016-17, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2016-17 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released. 

Additionally, the ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15. Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2016-17.


The 2016-17 season has come to a close, and the march towards 2017 First Face-off is ON! The Cincinnati Cyclones want to thank you for all of your support this past season, and invite you to stay tuned in the coming weeks and months for information on tickets and promotions for the 2017-18 season, great offseason events like Concrete Clones, and MORE! Call (513) 421-PUCK for information regarding your Cyclones, and you can also get the latest team updates on Facebook, Twitter (@CincyCyclones), and Instagram, along with our website,

More Than Just A Game

Download the Cyclones app & join Cyclones Rewards to get exclusive access, earn points, & win prizes!

Download Today


Buy Now

Upcoming Promotions