For Immediate Release: June 20, 2017



Second-Year Broadcaster Becomes Third Cyclone to Win Award


Cincinnati, OH-The Cincinnati Cyclones, in conjunction with the ECHL, have announced that Cyclones Director of Public Relations and Broadcasting, Everett Fitzhugh, is the 2016-17 recipient of the Award of Excellence for Media Relations as determined in voting by members of the media, league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Zach Dooley of the Adirondack Thunder, Brian Lavelle of the Quad City Mallards, Adrian Denny of the Utah Grizzlies, and Jason Mals of the Wichita Thunder.

“It’s an extreme honor to receive such a prestigious award,” remarked Fitzhugh. “It is humbling to be included amongst the many talented people who have won this award in the past, and to recognized by my peers who are some of the most talented people I have ever worked with.”

Fitzhugh joins former broadcasters John Hamel (2008) and Nick Brunker (2014) as past Cyclones winners of the Award of Excellence for Media Relations.

The 2016-17 season was Fitzhugh's second season with the Cyclones as the team’s Director of Public Relations and Broadcasting. The Michigan native got his start calling over 120 hockey games for the Bowling Green State University Falcons. His time with the Falcons saw him start as the color analyst before growing into the play-by-play role.

Upon graduation from BGSU, Fitzhugh moved on to accept the Manager of Communications & Director of Social Media position with the United States Hockey League in Chicago. There he excelled in providing league communications and content while heading the league's efforts with several notable events such as the USHL Draft and Top Prospects Game. From there he moved on to the USHL’s Youngstown Phantoms where responsibilities included game day broadcasts, media relations, social and web content, video features, and community outreach.  

ECHL Award of Excellence for Media Relations Winners

2016-17           Everett Fitzhugh, Cincinnati Cyclones

2015-16           DJ Abisalih, Wheeling Nailers

2014-15           Chuck Bailey, Fort Wayne Komets

2013-14           Nick Brunker, Cincinnati Cyclones

2012-13           Kevin Bartl and Ryan Holt, Bakersfield Condors

2011-12           J.P. Puma, Colorado Eagles

2010-11           Will Hoenike, Idaho Steelheads

2009-10           Eric Levine, Elmira Jackals


The 2016-17 season has come to a close, and the march towards 2017 First Face-off is ON! The Cincinnati Cyclones want to thank you for all of your support this past season, and invite you to stay tuned in the coming weeks and months for information on tickets and promotions for the 2017-18 season, great offseason events like Concrete Clones, and MORE! Call (513) 421-PUCK for information regarding your Cyclones, and you can also get the latest team updates on Facebook, Twitter (@CincyCyclones), and Instagram, along with our website,

More Than Just A Game

Sign up for Puck News & Cyclones Rewards to get exclusive access, earn points, & win prizes!

Sign Up Today


Buy Now

Upcoming Promotions

  • First Face-Off

    The Cyclones kick of the 2019-2020 season with $1 John Morrell HotDogs, Donatos Pizza, Soda, & Beer. The first 5,000 fans will receive a Cyclones Calendar presented by UC Health!

  • $1 Beers

    Fans 21+ can enjoy $1 cans of Miller High Life and Pabst Blue Ribbon Beers.

  • $1 Beers + Pups N Pucks

    Bring your pup to the frozen pond with a Special Pups n' Pucks ticket package while enjoying $1 ice cold Miller High Life and Pabst Blue Ribbon Beers. Bringing your dog, stick around after the game and bring your dog on the ice

Cincinnati Cyclones Frozen 5K & 10K

Rewards Leaderboard

  1. GaryS 2530
  2. stela23d 2530
  3. stephen 2530
  4. DJ Judd Money 2470
  5. mikeyhobbs 2420