For Immediate Release: June 4, 2018



25-Man List Includes Players from Previous Two Seasons


Cincinnati, OH- The Cincinnati Cyclones, in conjunction with the ECHL, have announced their 2018 Protected List. Per ECHL rules, teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish, provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association.

A team’s protected list may include players who signed a Standard Player Contract (SPC) 2017-18 and have not been traded or released, or signed an SPC in 2017-18, and were recalled to the National Hockey League (NHL) or American Hockey League (AHL), or International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) team, and have not been traded or released.

Additionally, teams may protect players who received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the 2017-18 season and did not sign an SPC and have not been traded or released. Protected players cannot have been suspended by their team or League, and cannot have been traded or released.

Finally, players who signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2017-18 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL or AHL contract and have not been traded or released, or have executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and have not been traded or released are also eligible.

Full 2018 Protected List:

Forwards (12): Mike Barrett, Austin Block, Winston Day Chief, Rob De Fulviis, Nick Huard, Brandon McNally, Shawn O’Donnell, Myles Powell, Jordan Sims, Jesse Schultz, Justin Vaive, Dominic Zombo

Defensemen (11): Arvin Atwal, Brock Beukeboom, Craig Dalrymple, Eric Diodati, Jake Flegel, Eric Knodel, Martin Lefebvre, Chris Leone, Spencer Metcalfe, Mitch Nylen, Nick Trecapelli

Goaltenders (2): Anthony Peters, Hayden Stewart

*Italics indicate player who received Qualifying Offer last summer*

In other ECHL news, teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on Wednesday, June 13. The Cyclones have one Future Considerations trade that needs to be completed with the Greenville Swamp Rabbits, who received forward Shane Walsh from Cincinnati back in January. 

The League also announced that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on Friday, June 15. Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players, and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2017-18.


The 2017-18 season has come to a close, and the march towards 2018 First Face-off is ON! The Cincinnati Cyclones want to thank you for all of your support this past season, and invite you to stay tuned in the coming weeks and months for information on tickets and promotions for the 2018-19 season, great offseason events like Concrete Clones, player signings, and MORE! Call (513) 421-PUCK for information regarding your Cyclones, and you can also get the latest team updates on Facebook, Twitter (@CincyCyclones), and Instagram, along with our website,